Friday, December 12, 2008

SEC accolades: BoJo, Moore, Benoist & freshmen recognized

The SEC coaches voted to name Vanderbilt's head coach, Bobby Johnson, the SEC's Coach of the Year, in a 3-way tie with Alabama's Nick Saban and Mississippi's Houston Nutt. Photo by Vanderbilt Athletics.
The 2008 football regular season has come to a close in the SEC, and Vanderbilt's head coach Bobby Johnson has been named coach of the year by his fellow SEC head coaches, joining Alabama's Nick Saban and Ole Miss' Houston Nutt in a three-way tie.

Johnson's statement upon winning the award reflected his usual class-act: "More than anything, this is tremendous recognition for our program," he said.

"Of course, I'm pleased to share this award knowing the caliber of coaching that takes place in the Southeastern Conference. I really want to thank our players and coaches. This award goes to them as much as it goes to me. I'm just extremely proud of our entire coaching staff and all of our players," Johnson said.

BoJo became only the fourth head Commodore to receive the football award, and he was the first since his predecessor George McIntyre, who received it in 1982 -- the last time the Commodores posted a winning record and earned a trip to the post-season.

Johnson wasn't the only man in Black and Gold receiving SEC recognition this year, however.

Both the SEC coaches and the SEC sportswriters named D.J. Moore, Vanderbilt's junior starting cornerback, to the First Team All-SEC and his teammate Patrick Benoist, one of the Commodores' junior linebackers, to Second Team All-SEC.

The coaches also named four Commodores to the All-SEC freshmen team: tied end Branden Barden, offensive lineman Kyle Fischer, defensive lineman T.J. Greenstone, and, in a unanimous selection by all 12 coaches, line backer Chris Marve.

Marve's unanimous selection was the Commodores' first since Kwane Doster, the SEC's 2002 Freshman of the Year.

Vanderbilt tied for third among SEC teams for most freshmen recognized, finishing ahead of Auburn, Mississippi State, Kentucky, Tennessee, Ole Miss, South Carolina, and LSU. Both Alabama and Florida had the same number of freshmen listed.


Andy said...

Freaking beautiful. I love BoJo. I love Vanderbilt.

internet bookmakers said...

congratulations to Bobby. It is quite hard to be named the coach of the year by his colleagues